Home Racing News Sepang International Circuit Formed New MotoGP Team With Yamaha

Sepang International Circuit Formed New MotoGP Team With Yamaha


Speculations on Yamaha to set up a new satellite team to replace its outgoing Yamaha Tech 3 has been going on and about for months. Tech 3 will be joining KTM in 2019 and Zarco will be replacing Bradley Smith in the KTM factory team while our very own MotoGP star; Hafizh Syahrin will be staying put with Tech 3.

Earlier, there’s speculation that Lorenzo will be replaced with Petruci and Lorenzo will be joining this new Yamaha satellite team and it is said to be sponsored by Petronas. However, the speculation was crushed when Lorenzo and Honda signed a deal which will see Lorenzo riding along with Marc Marquez; which also means Pedrosa will be out from Honda.

With that, it leaves Pedrosa with only two choices; retire or to join another team. Pedrosa called for a press conference in Catalunya but journalists ended up with disappointment when Pedroso not able to comment further. It happened again the the pre-race conference in Assen.

It is now confirmed that Yamaha will be having a new satellite team when Sepang International Circuit (SIC) announced that they will join forces with Angel Nieto Racing Team (ANRT) with Mr Jorge Martinez “Aspar” to assume the position of Sporting Advisor to this new MotoGP™ Team.

After the SIC-ANRT news, Yamaha confirm the signing of a memorandum with SIC that Yamaha will be leasing Yamaha YZR-M1 motorcycles for 2019, 2020 and 2021 as a satellite team.

Now that the manufacturer and owner status is sealed, question remained large on who will be riding for SIC-ANRT. At the moment, only Franco Morbidelli and Dani Pedrosa is rumoured to be taking up the two vacant seats.

Previous articleHRC Dani Pedrosa Moving To Petronas Yamaha?
Next articleWe Don’t Need To Shake Hands – Valentino Rossi
Not a pro rider, never a racer, not very technical savvy; just a plain old fashion speed freak and for sure someone who loves to ride. Love both 4 and 2 wheels.